Primus band timeline

Primus band timeline - page 3


In 1990, the band released their first studio album, Frizzle Fry, and released singles for “John the Fisherman” and “Too Many Puppies”. With a music video featuring Kirk Hammett, a studio album and a tour with Jane’s Addiction, Primus’ popularity grew to the point where they attracted attention from Interscope Records, who signed them in 1990.

It was remastered in 2002, after the original had been out of print for years, and was released on Prawn Song Records. The remaster includes an extra track, named “Hello Skinny/Constantinople”, a cover of the tracks “Hello Skinny” and “Constantinople” by The Residents.

Primus – Hello Skinny/Constantinople (Vinyl):

The album’s producer, Matt Winegar, who also recorded and produced Suck on This, was a member of the group, and a clip is featured just before “The Toys Go Winding Down”.

The beginning of “To Defy the Laws of Tradition” is an excerpt from the song “YYZ” by the band Rush on their album Moving Pictures, sampled from the live version of “John the Fisherman” which appears on Suck on This. Another Suck on This sample also appears at the end of “Groundhog’s Day”; the “Hey hey, Bob Cock here!” spoken intro from that album’s version.

The track “John the Fisherman” was used in the video game Guitar Hero II. (2006, 2007)

studio album Frizzle Fry:
released: February 1990

  • Harold of the Rocks
  • 1. "To Defy the Laws of Tradition"
  • 2. "Groundhog's Day" (alternative title: "Ground Hog's Day")
  • 3. "Too Many Puppies"
  • 4. "Mr. Knowitall"
  • 5. "Frizzle Fry"
  • 6. "John the Fisherman"
  • 7. "You Can't Kill Michael Malloy"
  • 8. "The Toys Go Winding Down"
  • 9. "Pudding Time"
  • 10. "Sathington Willoughby"
  • 11. "Spegetti Western"
  • 12. "Harold of the Rocks"
  • 13. "To Defy"
singles from album Frizzle Fry:
  • "John the Fisherman"
  • "Too Many Puppies"
  • "Mr. Knowitall"
members Primus:
  • Les Claypool – vocals, bass, electric upright bass, double bass
  • Larry LaLonde – electric guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Tim "Herb" Alexander – drums
additional musicians:
  • Todd Huth – acoustic guitar on "The Toys Go Winding Down"
  • Sathington Willoughby Orchestra
  • Les Claypool a.k.a. "Snap" – banjo, string bass
  • Larry LaLonde a.k.a. "Chunker" – archtop acoustic guitar
  • Tim Alexander a.k.a. "Herb" – toy organ
  • Matt Winegar a.k.a. "Exxon" – toy piano
  • Todd Huth – acoustic guitar

music videos 1990:

  • John the Fisherman
  • Too Many Puppies

John The Fisherman video; Too Many Puppies videoShort clip of the primus song in GH II


Sailing the Seas of Cheese is the second studio album and major-label debut by Primus, released on May 14, 1991. It spawned three singles: “Jerry Was a Race Car Driver”, “Tommy the Cat”, and “Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers”.

studio album Sailing the Seas of Cheese:
released: May 14, 1991 (US: Platinum)

  • [0:00] "Seas of Cheese"
  • [0:42] "Here Come the Bastards"
  • [3:36] "Sgt. Baker"
  • [7:53] "American Life"
  • [12:26] "Jerry Was a Race Car Driver"
  • [15:37] "Eleven"
  • [19:56] "Is It Luck?"
  • [23:24] "Grandad's Little Ditty"
  • [24:02] "Tommy the Cat"
  • [28:17] "Sathington Waltz"
  • [29:59] "Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers"
  • [35:19] "Fish On (Fisherman Chronicles, Chapter II)"
  • [43:04] "Los Bastardos"
singles from album Sailing the Seas of Cheese
  • "Jerry Was a Race Car Driver"
  • "Tommy the Cat"
  • "Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers"
Primus members:
  • Les Claypool – vocals, electric bass, string bass, six-string fretless bass, clarinet
  • Larry LaLonde – electric guitar, six-string banjo
  • Tim "Herb" Alexander – drums, water jug
  • Jay Lane – drums on tracks 14 & 15
  • Drums: Brain Mantia, Mike Bordin, Herb
  • Guitars: MIRV Haggard, Todd Huth, Derek Greenberg, Matt Winegar, Ler
  • Bass: Butthouse, Adam Gates, Les
  • Vocals: Adam Gates, Puffster, Herb, Ler, Les

music videos 1991:

  • Jerry Was a Race Car Driver
  • Tommy the Cat

Jerry Was a Race Car Driver video; Tommy the Cat video:

compilations and soundtracks:

  • A Different Sound (promo for Carlsberg Light lager, featuring “Tommy the Cat”)
  • Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey (soundtrack, featuring “Tommy the Cat”)
  • Expand-O: CD Tune Up 12 (featuring “Jerry Was a Race Car Driver”)

Primus playing in film “Bill and Ted`s bogus journey”:

“Jerry Was a Race Car Driver” appeared in the video games ATV Offroad Fury, Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater, Rock Band 3, and as downloadable content for Rocksmith 2014, while “American Life” appears in Tony Hawk’s Project 8, as well as in the first season of True Detective.

Bring the Noise Tour (1991) – The band then toured in support of Rush, U2, Anthrax, Public Enemy, and Fishbone

Platinum Album (Album Sailing the Seas of Cheese)
Bammie (Album Frizzle Fry)

The announcement of Best Independent album of the year at the 1991 Bammies in San Francisco. Presented by June Lockhart and Guido Sarducci. Helen Keller Plaid’s “Din” lost to Primus’ “Frizzle Fry.”

The album contains several samples from other media:

“Jerry Was a Race Car Driver” contains a sample from the movie The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2 in which the character Chop Top exclaims “Dog will hunt!”

“Los Bastardos” contains samples from the BBC television series The Young Ones including Vyvyan shouting, “Shut up, you bastards!” as well as Rick saying, “You just called me a bastard, didn’t you?” and “Mike, you bastard!”

The lyrics “sail the seas of cheese” from “Seas of Cheese” would later appear in the song “DMV” off of their next album Pork Soda, as well as the song “Dirty Drowing Man” off of Antipop.

The song “Eleven” is in an unusual time-metric of 11/8, hence the name.

Follow us!