Tarja Turunen timeline

Tarja timeline - page 3


Tarja Turunen timeline


Turunen recorded What Lies Beneath, it was released in September 2010. The album combined metal with classical “operatic” elements in an out of the box approach.

released singles from the album:
Falling Awake; I Feel Immortal; Until My Last Breath

She started the What Lies Beneath World Tour performing in several festivals, including the Wacken Open Air and the Graspop Metal Meeting, with special concerts at Miskolc Opera Festival and at the Masters of Rock, when she performed accompanied by a full orchestra. The tour is scheduled to last until April 2012.

Also in 2010, she supported Alice Cooper on the German leg of his Theatre of Death Tour.


On 17 July 2011, she sang again at the Savonlinna Opera Festival along with José Cura and accompanied by the Kuopio Symphony Orchestra.

Tarja Turunen & Harus – Live at Sibelius Hall is a collaboration album by Finnish soprano Tarja Turunen with musicians Kalevi Kiviniemi, Marzi Nyman and Markku Khron record at the Sibelius Hall, Finland and released on 25 November 2011. Released as in audio and DVD formats.

Tarja Turunen and Harus – Live at Sibelius hall (2011)


On 27 February 2012 during her What Lies Beneath World Tour concert in Brussels, Turunen announced that she will be working on a new album after completing the tour. During the concert, she performed two new songs.

In March 2012, Turunen won the title “Europe’s best crossover performer” with over 100,000 votes.

Act I is a live album released by the Finnish soprano Tarja Turunen.
The two concerts were recorded with 10 HD cameras at the El Círculo Theatre in Rosario, Argentina, in March 2012, and released on CD, DVD, and Blu-ray on the 24th of August, 2012. Additionally, the Act I media book contains a live recording from Luna Park (titled DVD3).

The track listing consists of a mix of her three solo albums, Nightwish’s classic “Nemo” and covers of Andrew Lloyd Webber, Gary Moore and Whitesnake plus a variety of extras.

On the 10th of July 2012, Earmusic released the very first Official Teaser for “Act I”.

videos from album “Act I” DVD:
In For A Kill; Into The Sun; I Walk Alone


In May 2013, Turunen announced the title of her album, Colours in the Dark, which was released on 30 August.

On 31 May the song “Never Enough” was released as a teaser. Later this year, in September, it was revealed that Turunen would appear as guest vocalist on the title track and video of Within Temptation’s EP Paradise, released on September 27.

From the album were released two single “Victim of Ritual”, “500 Letters” and 3 videos,

Victim Of Ritual; 500 Letters; Never Enough:

“Never Too Far” (Mike Oldfield feat. Tarja Turunen); “Paradise (What About Us?)” (Within Temptation feat. Tarja Turunen):


In May 2014, it was released the DVD Beauty and the Beat, providing live footage from 3 concerts as part of the Beauty and the Beat World Tour.

The DVD shows Tarja performing live with a symphonic orchestra, choir and Mike Terrana on drums.

Songs include Antonín Dvořák’s “Song to the Moon” from Rusalka and Led Zeppelin’s “Kashmir”, and also a live version of the rarely performed song “Swanheart” from the 1998 Nightwish album Oceanborn. On the same year, in July, Left in the Dark was released as an EP containing alternative versions from Tarja’s album Colours in the Dark, as well as a studio version of “Into the Sun”.

Led Zeppelin Medley; Swanheart; ‘Beauty & The Beat’ Official Trailer:


29 May 2015. Tarja announced live audio and video DVD (2DVD) Luna Park Ride.

The concert was filmed at Stadium Luna Park in Buenos Aires, Argentina by the fans and mixed by Tim Palmer. Apart from this show the release also contains 70 minutes of bonus material filmed during 2010-2014.

Until My Last Breath; Underneath; “Luna Park Ride” DVD / Blu-ray bonus content trailer:

Ave Maria is the first classical album released by the Finnish soprano Tarja Turunen.

On the 22 July 2015, earMUSIC released a video announcing the existence of the album, following with a teaser trailer on 6 August. The full music video was not released until 13 August that year, with Tarja singing the rare “Ave Maria” by Paolo Tosti.

On 17 October 2015, Tarja performed two new songs from her forthcoming album, “No Bitter End” and “Goldfinger”, which is a cover of the title song of the James Bond film with the same name.

Ave Maria; No Bitter End; Goldfinger:

“Castillos de papel (Paper Castles)” (Lörihen feat. Tarja Turunen) Aún sigo latiendo
“An Empty Dream”(Original theme for the movie Dead Heart)


The Brightest Void is EP by Finnish rock and metal soprano vocalist Tarja Turunen. It serves as a prequel to the main album The Shadow Self. It was released on the 3 June 2016 and contains 9 tracks.

The Shadow Self is the sixth studio album released by Finnish vocalist Tarja Turunen. The record was released on 5 August 2016. The record produced two singles.

Innocence; Demons in You” (feat. Alissa White-Gluz):


“An Empty Dream” is a song taken as the first single from her EP The Brightest Void, even though it was originally a part of the soundtrack of the 2015 Argentinian horror film Corazón Muerto directed by Mariano Cattaneo. The song was released in a digital format on June 23, 2017, more than a year after the release of The Brightest Void.

“O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” and “Feliz Navidad” taken from her classical album From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas).

An Empty Dream: O Come, O Come, Emmanuel; Feliz Navidad:

From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas) is the second classical and Christmas album released 17 November 2017


Live album Act II Released: July 27, 2018

Tarja “Act II” – Official Unboxing; “Until My Last Breath” (Live in London); “Love To Hate” Live at Metropolis London:


Follow us!